ID #1213

Can i switch between different Citrix Reveiver Version in the IGEL Linux

IGEL has included in all current LX/OS Firmware Versions (V4.13.x or V5.01.x < 5.03.100) a hidden “failback” Switch which can help to bypass issues with the latest included Receiver.


In the current IGEL Firmware 5.02.100 you are able to switch between Citrix Receiver (default, mentioned in the release notes) and Citrix Receiver (mentioned nowhere… :-( ). I do not unterstand why this is included as a hidden feature because it’s a clear benefit to have this option available.


Switching between these Versions is quite simple, you only need to execute the command /services/ica/bin/switch_ica_fallback. This can be done from a command line/terminal session for tests / troubleshooting or you can execute it during boottime for production. If you want to switch back to the “default” version just execute the command again… Funny right?


If you want to perform the last option open a profile or the local IGEL Setup and browse to System – Firmware Customization – Custom Commands – Desktop Commands and enter the command in the Custom Command Desktop Final field. After this change is done the setting will be active after the next reboot.


In the firmware >=5.03.100 and >=4.14.100 you have a switch “Use Citrix Receiver version 13″ available in the IGEL setup/UMS profile “Sessions->Citrix->Citrix Receiver Selection” or in System->Registry->ica.useversion13. You can not use the switch_ica_failback command in this case!

Categories for this entry

Tags: -

Related entries:

You can comment this FAQ